Real Life Lessons 1: How NOT to comfort someone

When people tell you that all things happen for good, they’re actually right. But when you’re heartbroken and hurt and someone tells you, “Don’t cry. Everything happens for good.” All you want to do is punch them in the face. You’re hurting right now. Who cares if they’re right. The idea that getting hurt is good for me? It just isn’t comforting.

Courtesy: Google Images

Courtesy: Google Images


Here’s what you must ALWAYS keep in mind while comforting someone:

1. No, you haven’t been there. You don’t know how I feel. Your situation wasn’t even close to what I just went through. Well, it could have been worse, but I don’t want to know that right now!

2. Did it work for you when you were hurting? If it didn’t, then stop suggesting it to me.

3. This isn’t a movie. I have responsibilities I cannot get away from. So don’t suggest I take a trip to get my mind off of things.

4. Forget all about it? Well, if it were that simple, I wouldn’t be sitting here crying now, would I?

5. Oh, you’re uncomfortable with all my crying? Tough break. You chose to come and comfort me. Deal with it.

6. Don’t tell me you knew this would happen or that you told me so. Yes, I get it. You’re wise and not very modest about it. Now can we move on to my boohoo?

Leave a Comment

